Exercise Form and movement in a clothed figure

Aim of the exercise: For the model to wear some soft fabrics that help to describe the form of their body and to draw the clothed figure as a whole, disregarding the details of head, hands and feet and concentrate on drawing the body and the fabric. To observe the gesture of the figure and how the fabric helps and even exaggerates this movement. Use hatching to create form so that the fabric and figure appear to have weight.

What I experienced:

clothes_NEWCompleted 23/11/13. My model wore a dressing gown over her clothes and sat on the sofa. I used A2 mid-toned pastel paper and black and white Conté crayons to complete the drawing. I sketched in the overall proportions of the figure in charcoal first and refined this with the Conté crayons. I found it quite difficult, at times, to not get so caught up in trying to draw a particular fold accurately that I didn’t then forgot about the whole. This is probably most noticeable in the folds directly below the model’s folded hands where some have become disjointed because of concentrating too much on an individual fold. This was quite a difficult area to draw as there were a lot of folds and needed a lot of concentration to try and understand what I was seeing. It has been fascinating to see how some folds interlock, how they are formed, the relationships to each other, how one is affected by the other, how the lights and darks are vital to giving the impression of a fold and how the way that these are portrayed alters the appearance of a fold from sharp to more rounded, and how they follow and suggest the form underneath. I enjoyed attempting the drawing but certainly found it difficult. I decided to only suggest the chair as I felt that extra detail in this area was unneeded.

What I feel went well: I think that it was a reasonable first attempt and I think that I have been reasonably successful in creating form so that the fabric and the figure appear to have weight. I feel that the depiction of some of the folds has worked well.

What I feel did not go well: I struggled with some of the more complicated areas and these appear overworked in relation to the rest of the figure. In complicated areas I found myself concentrating more on the individual fold and did not relate it sufficiently well to the whole. The way that I have depicted the folds across the abdomen do not show the form of this area very successfully. The drawing took me a couple of hours to complete which is still far too slow. Areas of the drawing are too over-worked. I did not simplify the folds over the abdomen to help make this area clearer.

What I would like to do following this exercise: As already mentioned in the previous exercise I want to become much more aware how various fabric behaves and to notice this when I am out and about. It is not something that I have closely looked at before this project. I found in the previous exercise it was interesting to really notice for the first time the difference in how the duvet cover settled into folds against how the fleece blanket did. Carrying on from these exercises will help me to continue to work on becoming more visually aware.

This entry was posted in Part 4 Drawing Figures, Project 5 The clothed figure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

