Check and log – Project Proportions

Have you managed to make a complete statement in this time? What were your main problems?

With the shorter length drawings I only managed to get the basics down on paper. For the hour long drawing I was able to get more down but I still did not manage to complete the drawing in the time. At the moment one of the main problems is my lack of experience with figure drawing which means that I tend to be quite unsure in my approach. I also worry about what my model will think when she sees the drawings and I am lucky that she has a good sense of humour and has been able to see the funny side so far. I need to be able to draw faster as well and hopefully this will improve with more practice. I struggled to think of anything else while doing the drawings, apart from trying to draw accurately and I need to be able to do more than that if I want the drawings to have any atmosphere, character or creativity to them. It is an area that I am going to work hard on to try and make progress with during this section of the course. I also had difficulties placing the figure well on the paper and will also need to work on this.

How well have you captured the characteristics of the pose?

I found it quite difficult to capture the characteristics of the pose, I am tending to draw the model as if she is perching on a chair, rather than capturing the weight sinking in to the chair, how the weight is distributed etc. I am also finding it difficult to capture foreshortening. And individual personality I am definitely not capturing. These are aspects that I can work on.

Do the proportions look right? If not, how will you try and improve this?

I think that the drawings are a bit of a mixed bag. Some of the proportions look reasonably correct, while others are clearly out. I will be able to work to improve this by getting a better understanding of human proportions, a better understanding of how to capture foreshortening, and to draw as many types of figures as I can, in as many different positions as I can.

 

This entry was posted in Part 4 Drawing Figures, Project 1 Proportions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

