Check and log – Project Drawing plants and flowers

16/10/12

How will your experiments with negative space help your observational drawing in the future?

By using both negative and positive spaces it can help me to understand the shape of areas that I am less clear about, or can see less clearly. It will help me more accurately record what I am seeing rather than what I think I may be seeing. Particularly, while drawing the  leaves and petals, drawing the negative spaces has helped me to understand better how they are curving and the way to more accurately capture foreshortening. The experience gained during these exercises will also be invaluable when attempting figure drawing or buildings as negative space can enable me to understand angles and form better.

What techniques did you use to ensure you drew your plants in proportion?

Studying the plants carefully prior to drawing them, to get a better understanding of how they grew, how leaves/flowers attached, angles/shapes, shape of stems etc helped to get a better understanding of how the plants were made up and how elements related to each other. I used both positive and negative shapes to help me. I also measured with a pencil held outstretched, ensuring that I did not tilt the pencil but imagined that I was resting it against a pane of glass and keeping any movement of the pencil parallel to me, also ensuring that my arm was fully outstretched so that all measurements were taken at the same distance (as I had learnt for the exercise boxes and books). For enlarging the plant, so that I could draw it onto an A2 piece of paper, I held a ruler in an outstretched hand, keeping it parallel to me, and then measured height and width, compared them to each other and worked out how large I needed to enlarge my drawing to fit the paper. For this I found using a ruler easier than using a pencil. I also regularly checked points against each other, vertically, diagonally and horizontally. This helped to see how various features related to each other, and related to vase/background/table etc, and to keep them in the relative proportions. This was particularly helpful when drawing larger onto the A2 as I found myself reverting to drawing sight size on occasions and this helped to pick up on that quickly.

How did you achieve an effect of three-dimensional space in your drawing?

By noting and then recording carefully how objects overlapped, changes in size between objects closer to the foreground and objects further away. By shading to show roundness of form. By trying to use stronger and warmer colours and more detail further forward in the drawing and cooler colours with less detail further back in the drawing.

This entry was posted in Part 2 Observation in nature, Project 5 Drawing plants and flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Check and log – Project Drawing plants and flowers

  1. Mags Phelan says:

    Excellent post, Chris… really helpful.

Leave a Reply

